Cuse Country

Home Away From Dome for Syracuse Orange Fans

No Big Loss

Posted by Josh on February 15, 2007

I just watched about 15 minutes of the UMass-Fordham game on ESPN2 (because my dad went to Fordham, I figured I’d check out their team for a few minutes) and who do I see playing PG for UMass but Tiki Mayben, who committed to SU but didn’t qualify academically and never made it to campus. In case you were wondering “what could have been” with Mayben backing up/challenging/supplanting Josh Wright, from what I saw tonight, don’t hurt yourself wishing for anything. The season stats tell the tale: Mayben averages 3.1 turnovers in just 18.8 minutes per game, and shoots 13% from three-point range (4-29 on the year). Granted he is still just a freshman and may turn into a solid player, but these are his numbers in the A-10; imagine how he’d be faring in the Big East right now.

3 Responses to “No Big Loss”

  1. Tom said

    He also had (and possibly still has) an utterly monstrous unibrow.

    On this one, there are no names listed with these guys, but Tiki is easily identifiable nonetheless:

  2. TIKI said

    I’m betta than any of them dudes on dat team,,, the big east is fast and aggressive how I play ya dig,,, not slow fast-breaks wit teammates who r totally unprepared to catch the ball,,, Neva would I use excuses for how i play’d dis year but check da stats for my teammates when I was on da court compared to when any of SU’s guards was on da court and I bet we did way betta when i was on da court… U prolly don’t even play ball tryin to evaluate peoples games,,, stats dont alway’s tell u who won and who loss rather than who did good Individually, it’s a TEAM game…

  3. […] by Tim on March 20th, 2007 Who reads Cuse Country? Tiki Mayben does. After Josh dissed the former SU recruit’s play in a post last month, Mr. Mayben left this comment this afternoon: I’m betta than any of them […]

Leave a Reply

 
